LDR

Long Distance Relationship (LDR) is a two-person improv format performed by Kory Mathewson and Piotr Mirowski. Piotr and Kory and engaged in a long-distance relationship, which they try to make work through telecommunication technology. The show is produced by HumanMachine and explores the limits of improv when the performers are separated by seven time zones and seven seas.

Long Distance Relationship takes place online, where either performer (or both) may be in front of an audience. LDR starts with an email sent from the remote performer. The email is read live, in front of the audience, and initiates the scene.

What is gained and lost when performers are separated by a distance surmountable only through the advents of modern technology? What impacts does the technological separation have on audiences on both ends? What relationships can be explored online-first? These questions serve as the fuel for Long Distance Relationship.

Past performances:

21 June 2017, 20:00 BST at the Library (London, England) and 12:00 MST in Cupertino (California)

At the The Library, as part of LadyG and Friends’ show and jam.

31 March 2017, 21:30 BST at the Tristan Bates Theatre (London, England) and 13:30 PST at the Curious Comedy Theater (Portland, Oregon); 1 April 2017, 18:00 BST at the Tristan Bates Theatre (London, England) and 10:00 PST at the Curious Comedy Theater (Portland, Oregon)

Albert, mYlez, Pyggy and A.L.Ex do their most ambitious show ever: binary2, transatlantic AI improv, simultaneously at the Tristan Bates Theatre in London and at the Curious Comedy Theater, as part of ImproFest UK 2017:

20 March 2017, 20:00 BST at the Library (London, England) and 13:00 MST in Edmonton (Alberta)

At the Effra Social, during DuckDuckGoose‘s show and jam.

15 March 2017, 21:30 BST at the Library (London, England) and 14:30 MST in Edmonton (Alberta)

At the The Library, as part of LadyG and Friends’ show and jam.

14 February 2017, 20:00 BST at the Freedom Bar (London, England) and 13:00 MST in Edmonton (Alberta)

Love Sucks, at the Freedom Bar in Soho.

8 February 2017, 21:00 MST at the Dirt Buffet Cabaret (Edmonton, Alberta) – 9 February 2017, 4:00 BST in London (England)

This second show took place at the Dirt Buffet Cabaret, Edmonton’s experimental variety show and performance lab.  Kory performed first with a hybrid version of A.L.Ex and Pyggy, then called Piotr, who had sent him and email.

4 February 2017, 23:00 BST at The Miller Pub (London, England) – 4 February 2017, 16:00 MST at Lake Louise (Alberta)

This inaugural show took place at the “Night Tube” late-night impro show organised by Hoopla and Steve Roe. Kory sent the email to Piotr, who called Kory from the stage.